Karana Netball Club was founded in 1964 as the Karana Netball Club by the late Cleone Probert (Boniwell). Cleone had played with another club before travelling overseas. On her return in 1964 she formed the first Karana team with players from the disbanded Friends Old Scholars team and others. The name Karana is an aboriginal word meaning “Quietly” or “The Quiet One”.

Karana Netball Club is supported by the Tasmanian Government.

The first team consisted of herself, Sandra Creese, Betty Parssey, Ruth Marshall, Sandra Moore, Pat Hurd and Gail Salter. Training was held in the gym at Hobart Matriculation College where Cleone taught.

Karana has grown from that small start to one of the largest clubs within the STNA. In 2023 Karana has 34 teams competing in the RACT Insurance League and the Southern Tasmanian Netball Association. Karana has over 270 registered players, coaches, umpires and supporters.

Since the formation of Karana, its club members have taken pride in preserving the values of the founding members and have not changed the club colours from the original red and blue.