Karana Netball Club was founded in 1964 by Cleone Probert (Boniwell). Cleone had played with another club before travelling overseas. On her return in 1964 she formed the first Karana team with players from the disbanded Friends Old Scholars team and others.
The name Karana is an aboriginal word meaning “Quietly” or “The Quiet One”.

The first team consisted of herself, Sandra Creese, Betty Parssey, Ruth Marshall, Sandra Moore, Pat Hurd and Gail Salter. Training was held in the gym at Hobart Matriculation College where Cleone taught.
Karana has grown from that small start to one of the largest clubs within the STNA. In 2016 Karana has 24 teams competing in the Tasmanian Netball League and the Southern Tasmanian Netball Association. Karana has over 260 registered players, coaches, umpires and supporters.
Since the formation of Karana, its club members have taken pride in preserving the values of the founding members and have not changed the club colours from the original red and blue, nor changed the club name. more

St.LukesHealth Karana wish to congratulate Premier League players Kaitlyn Barry, Zoe Crawford and Chloe Moult who were named this evening in the Hobart Netball & Sports Centre All Star Team. ...

2016 All Stars Team

View on Facebook

Attention all Coaches & Players in
Under 21, Premier League and Grades
participating in Semi Finals

Please note the following:

4th Quarter ONLY - Timing will not be centrally timed, and will be switched to a stopwatch on individual games once the 4th quarter commences.

Please ensure your scorer on the day, is familiar with working a stopwatch.

Please ensure you are familiar with the procedures should the end of game be tied.

View on Facebook